Giving Thanks

I love Thanksgiving for many reasons.

1) As I get older, I have learned to appreciate my family more.  I think that it is important to spend time with your relatives.  So, I enjoy getting to see everyone.  Plus, any time I get to eat my Grandmother’s cooking is a good time.

2) It is the beginning of the holidays.  I love Christmas.  So, I certainly love the marker ushering in the season’s arrival.  What is not to love?  I get some time off of school (which is precious coveted time these days), I get to do nothing, and it’s Christmas and that means snow and cute dresses and new years and presents!

3) It’s a time when we give thanks.  As a believer in God who does not believe in church, I think it’s important, for me especially, to count my blessings.  I often try to take some time to think about how blessed I am.  In my life, I am surrounded by so many people who have it more difficult than I do.  It makes me appreciate what I have so much more.

So, this Thanksgiving, I give thanks for:

  • My wonderful family
  • My amazing boyfriend and his family
  • My health
  • My mind
  • My family’s good fortune
  • My friends
  • My life thus far
  • Everything good that ever happens

I have so many things to be thankful for, even though I spend a large portion of my life consumed with my thoughts and my worries, things are not so bad.  I just have the tendency to stress too much…especially during this time with my college finals coming up and the holidays.  Even today I tried hard to shake worries from my mind.  All I can do is remind myself that I must be happy and give thanks on this special day.

Leave a Reply

