Steampunk Fashion

First, I would like to say that I am so excited for this post that I can not even wait until tomorrow to write it!  It is 2:47AM, but that is not stopping me.

Steampunk is not easily described.  Many see it as an aesthetic born from a combination of science fiction, technology, and romance.  As illusive as the the word “hipster”; steampunk means different things to different people.  In my opinion, it can be best described through pictures.

I love the steampunk aesthetic!  I believe that the idea is to make modern technology look as the technology did in the time of the steam engine.  Steampunk does not stop at hardware however, it appears that there is an entire steampunk culture, clothing and all.

If you ask me, it is kind of like goth meets hot-air balloon operator crica 1805.  While this is not my cup of tea, those who are dedicated to this style of clothing should be commended since they often have to piece and sew together these outfits on their own.  Here is a blog I found that guided my research.  Here are tons of photos of Steampunk clothing!  Buy Steampunk clothing here.

The crown jewel of this aesthetic however, is the jewelry!

London Particulars sells their designs on Etsy:


This jewelry is so beautiful I cannot believe my eyes!  True art (that you can wear). More pieces here.

If you didn’t think that was enough, Catherinette Rings Steampunk has great designs as well:

You can buy any of these designs on Etsy! (Just click on my links.) It is all handmade and unique.  Oh, and did I mention how awesome it is!?

Ok hipikats, see you on the astral.

2 thoughts on “Steampunk Fashion

Leave a Reply

