Japan and Color

Two things I love include Japanese art and color.  Combine the two and there is endless fun to be had.

One way that I really enjoy japanese art is through animation.  Studio Ghibli is known for producing breathtaking visuals in their animated films.  Some of my personal favorites include: Howl’s Moving Castle, My Neighbor Totoro and Ponyo.  Another Japanese -style (I say Japanese-style because it was created by Americans, for Nickelodeon.) show I have always enjoyed is Avatar: The Last Airbender.  I love the blend of anime  and traditional within the drawing of the cartoon but most importantly, I love the underlying meanings.  I have always been a bit of a philosophy nerd (taking a philsophy minor) and asian thought is one of my absolute favorite subjects.  Plus, Aang desecrates bad guys on a daily basis and he is a fun-loving 12-year-old! Also, martial arts is so entertaining.

That being said, another aspect of both animations are their richness of color.  Colorful things spark my imagination and overall happiness, which is why, every time I go the Asain market I have to choose a new bag of candy based on the packaging alone.

But of course, this entry would be nothing if it didn’t lead up the culmination of both Japanese art and color.  Here it is, Taro Gomi coloring books, my favorite thing since making bracelets in 7th grade.

Taro Gomi has three huge coloring books called Doodles, Squiggles and Scribbles.  I love them because they force you to think “outside the line” there is very little “coloring in” and “stay inside the lines” it is all imagination.  Most pages begin with very basic drawings and prompt you to make them special.  For instance, in Doodles, there is a page with an empty plate and it asks you to draw your favorite meal.  Awesome right?

Who drew a better pair of animal horns? Me or Peter?   Haha.  See, isn’t it fun? Doodles is great for two-person coloring.  The other book in the pile was a funny “fashion designer coloring book where you get to “design” garments.  It’s most likely for 10-year-olds but since when has that stopped me?

If you have creative issues like me (meaning you try to be creative and then you get nothing) try out some of these books, they’re so much fun.

Leave a Reply

