Create Your Own Resort Collection

I’m thinking about something a little different today, hipikats.  Can you guess what it is?  If you guessed tropical vacation then you’re a super genius.

If you did not already know, designers often release “resort” collections aimed at people who go on vacation to warmer climates during the colder months.  That being said, resort wear, like all designer clothing, is crazy expensive.

I thought it would be fun to create my own resort collection from more affordable pieces.  Before, I begin though here are  a few of my favorite resort collections for 2012:

Alice & Olivia

Barbara Bui

BCBG Max Azria

Christian Dior

A resort collection to me, should be a few things.  First, it should tell a story.  When you go on vacation you have a chance to create an experience and how you dress can influence your attitude and the things you do.  Choose clothes that will exemplify the kind of vacation you want to have.  For example, If you want to be jet-setter remember to include a floppy hat and plenty of sunglasses.Jet Setter Resort CollectionJet Setter Resort Collection by danielleuniverse featuring tote handbags

If you want to be bohemian then include plenty of bathing suits and flowy clothes.

Bohemian Resort Collection

Second, your clothes should be cohesive.  Stick to a color palette and don’t skimp on the black, white, and nudes.  That way you will have a lot of choices when getting dressed for the day because everything will match.

For my personal resort collection, I went for a comfortable chic and I tried to make it so many of the pieces could be mixed and matched.

My Resort collection 2012 Poolside

My Resort collection 2012 Poolside by danielleuniverse featuring h&m swimwear

My Resort Collection 2012 Day
My Resort Collection 2012 Night

My Resort Collection 2012 Night by danielleuniverse featuring a short pleated skirt

There you have it.  What would your resort collection look like hipikats?
Leave a Reply

