An Engagement

I have a bit of a proposal for my readers:

There is no arguing that I have been neglecting my blogging duties.  However, in my defense, summer is a busy time for me.  Working in a shore-town means summer is less about barbecues and ringing bicycle bells and more about getting the hours in.  Plus, my days off are better spent relaxing than holing up in my room on the computer!  So, as you can see, I have been engaged in a number of tasks and activities…some more exciting than others.  Take, for instance, OUR ENGAGEMENT! (OK, I couldn’t put it off any longer! Don’t act like you didn’t get the hints.)

Peter and I are engaged!  If you’re a friend or family then you already know, but if not then here is just a bit of background:  Peter is the most wonderful, amazing, talented, intelligent, kind, adorable, gentlemanly, perfect person in the world and he asked me to marry him! Can you believe it?  Hahaha…I sure couldn’t.  I was so surprised!  Now that it has had a chance to sink in I am just over-the-moon ecstatic.  (I don’t even take my ring off when I go to bed, but don’t tell anyone.)

So, here I am with all of this joy in my life and what do I think of, “I should do a blog post!”  Although I try to stick with fashion, I think the best way to keep a personal blog is to do whatever you want with it.  One day I am into fashion (OK, everyday I am into fashion) and the next day I am perfecting an Auntie Anne’s pretzel recipe (which turned out awesome, by the way), but right now I am completely focused on just savoring this time and our love (and planning a perfect wedding, of course, but one step at a time).  Therefore, a lot of my upcoming posts are going to be about wedding this or that.  You may sigh but what kind of a blogger would I be if I didn’t share the most important things in my life?

So for all of you curious people out there:

Peter and I have been together (uninterrupted, might I add) for about four and a half years.  When we first started dating, I was 17 and Peter was 19.  Now we are 22 and 23, respectively.

2007

We went from being high schoolers, to college students, and now graduates together.  Over the years, we’ve learned a lot, from our friends, family, and professors, but most importantly we’ve learned a lot from each other.

Now, obviously we know each other inside and out.  Likes and dislikes, food preferences, pet peeves, habits, hobbies, favorite places, fears, hopes, and dreams are all part of it.  However, there is a point when learning about each other slows (although, it never stops completely) and learning from each other takes center stage.  It isn’t always easy to take advice and admit our mistakes but I have seen how we have grown from it over the years.  I can’t speak for Peter specifically but I can honestly say that being with him has made me a more caring and thoughtful person and I could never thank him enough for teaching me some of life’s most valuable lessons. And, I think one of the most important lessons we have come to understand from spending all this time together is that we never want to be without each other.  Which is why I’m just so overwhelmed at the fact that soon we will embark on a journey of a lifetime of togetherness. (It makes me so happy that I’m on the verge of tears as I write this.)

Peter and I have just always felt so perfect together.  Even in the beginning stages of our relationship when were just learning about each other we filled the voids that the other one left.  Every new discovery was a exciting realization that we enjoyed the same movies, music, hobbies, and life philosophies.  Every misstep was a chance for us to mend something we deeply cared about.  Every moment spent together was like being with a best friend.

Now, we are best friends.  We know every detail of each other’s lives.  We think the same things at the same time.  We share everything.  We are together whenever we can be (and somehow it still isn’t enough).  We make up for each other’s short comings and enhance each other’s better qualities.  We support and care for each other.  We are everything I could have ever hoped for in a relationship and more.  I just can’t help but wonder how I got so lucky.  Peter’s love for me shows in every smile, every touch, and every nickname.  He treats me like I’m the only person in the world who matters.  When I’m with him, I feel loved, safe, and utterly happy.  There is nothing better than the two of us together and there is, and never will be, anyone else I want to spend the rest of my life with.

There are no words to describe how excited and pleased I am to be making this step in my life with Peter and our families by our sides.  Over the coming months (who am I kidding, years) I’ll probably have a lot to say about flowers and color schemes but all that really matters is that I get to marry my best friend.  Which is why I wanted to write this post for myself and for everyone involved.  Throughout this process of simply having wedding, I know that there are going to be times when the decisions and details become distracting.  But I always want to remember, “Why are we getting married.”  And the answer will always be, “because we love each other and want to be together forever.”  And that is all that really matters.

5 thoughts on “An Engagement

  1. Tassia

    Danielle, I finally got a chance to read this, and I am in love with you both. I couldn’t be happier for you and Peter! Churches recommend engaged couples do premarital counseling with a married couple… but reading this I wonder if John and I don’t have a thing or two to glean from the two of you 😉 You are wonderful… many many blessings to you and Peter and your life together!

  2. Veronica

    After discovering your blog (completely and utterly) by chance over a year ago, I have become an avid reader. My name is Veronica and I know we don’t know each other, but when I read this post I just felt the need to tell you that I honestly wish you the best of luck! You seem like such a nice, and genuinely great person, and I just wish you both the best. May your lives come together as one and be filled with lots of blessings and an abundance of love.

Leave a Reply

